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Notice to Readers 

 
This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts and special acts) significantly affecting 

transportation enacted during the 2019 regular session. OLR’s other Acts Affecting reports are, or 

will soon be, available on OLR’s website: https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp. 

 

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) or special act (SA) number. Not all provisions of the 

acts are included. The report does not include vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. 

Complete summaries of public acts are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website: 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp. 

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 

Library, House Clerk’s Office, or General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov. 
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Airports 

Connecticut Airport Authority (CAA) Nonbudgeted Expenditures 

The legislature increased, from $500,000 to $1 million, the maximum amount of nonbudgeted 

expenditures the CAA board may authorize the executive director to make, without its prior 

approval, in certain emergency situations (PA 19-123, § 1, effective upon passage).  

 

Connecticut Airport and Aviation Account 

A new law transfers the authority to spend funds in the Connecticut airport and aviation account 

from the transportation commissioner to the CAA executive director. By law, spending from the 

account requires approval from the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) secretary (PA 19-123, 

§ 2, effective upon passage).  

 

Autonomous Vehicles (AVs) 

AV Pilot Program 

A new law eliminates the requirement that, under OPM’s AV pilot program, people be seated in the 

driver’s seat while testing an AV and instead requires that they be physically inside the AV. It 

continues to require these operators to monitor the AV’s operation when testing it and be capable 

of taking immediate manual control of it. Additionally, the act extends by 18 months, from January 

1, 2019, to July 1, 2020, the OPM secretary’s initial deadline for reporting to the legislature on the 

program’s progress (PA 19-119, § 17, effective upon passage). 

 

AV Task Force 

The legislature made several changes related to the AV task force, including (1) authorizing any 

Transportation Committee chairperson to schedule task force meetings, as he or she deems 

necessary, and act as the task force chairperson until its members elect a chairperson from its 

members and (2) extending, by one year, the deadlines for the task force’s reports (PA 19-119,  

§ 18, effective upon passage). 

 

Boating 

Annual Aquatic Invasive Species Fee 

A new law establishes an aquatic invasive species (AIS) fee and requires owners of registered 

vessels (i.e., generally, any type of watercraft except a seaplane) to pay it annually to the 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when they pay any required vessel registration fee. The 

annual AIS fee is $5 for in-state vessels and $20 for out-of-state vessels. DMV must deposit all AIS 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=869
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=869
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
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fee proceeds into the Connecticut lakes, rivers, and ponds preservation account (PA 19-190, most 

provisions are effective January 1, 2020). 

 

Reduced Sales and Use Tax on Dyed Diesel Fuel  

The legislature reduced, from 6.35% to 2.99%, the sales and use tax rate applicable to dyed diesel 

fuel that is sold by a marine fuel dock exclusively for marine purposes or stored, accepted, or 

otherwise used for these purposes. By law, dyed diesel fuel is exempt from the motor fuels tax and 

the petroleum products gross earnings tax (PA 19-117, §§ 323 & 324, effective October 1, 2019, 

and applicable to sales occurring on or after that date). 

 

Department of Transportation (DOT) Operation 

DOT Land Inventory to Site Renewable Facilities 

A new law requires DOT to submit to the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection 

(DEEP) an inventory of DOT-owned land suitable to site Class I renewable energy sources (e.g., wind 

and solar). DEEP must conduct a technical, legal, and financial analysis of the land considering 

various factors. The act also allows DEEP to give preference to projects sited on land included on 

the inventory in solicitations it issues for renewable energy procurements (PA 19-35, § 8, effective 

upon passage). 

 

Green Lights on Maintenance Vehicles 

A new law allows DOT-owned and -operated maintenance vehicles to use green steady or flashing 

lights in addition to, or instead of, the yellow or amber steady or flashing lights that they may 

already use under existing law (PA 19-161, § 10, effective October 1, 2019).  

 

New Haven Property 

A new law requires DOT to (1) submit to the Transportation Committee an inventory of all land in 

New Haven that is under its control in connection with the I-95 New Haven Harbor Crossing Corridor 

Improvement Program and (2) indicate when it intends to return the land to New Haven control (PA 

19-161, § 12, effective upon passage). 

 

Rest Areas 

The biennial budget appropriates $1.16 million each in FYs 20 and 21 to DOT to operate the state’s 

rest areas for 24 hours per day. The state has seven rest areas: Danbury, Middletown, North 

Stonington, Southington, Wallingford, and two in Willington. Prior to this change, they were open 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=6637
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7424
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=35
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=161
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
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daily from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. for restroom use; portable restrooms were available outside of 

these hours (PA 19-117, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Wayfinding Signage 

A new law requires the DOT commissioner to study wayfinding signage, including signs on limited 

access highways indicating food and fuel services in the state. The study must examine the 

standards for or regulation of advertising local businesses on such signage. By February 1, 2020, 

the commissioner must report his findings and recommended changes to the standards and 

regulations to the Commerce and Transportation committees (PA 19-178, effective upon passage). 

 

Driver’s Licenses, Registrations, and Certificates of Title 

Compliance Notice in Lieu of Renewal Application 

Under prior law, DMV had to send renewal applications to all motor vehicle registrants at least 30 

days before their registrations expired. Under a new law, DMV may send a notice instead of an 

application to registrants who must resolve compliance issues, such as outstanding motor vehicle 

property taxes or DMV fines or fees, before their registration may be renewed. The notice must 

detail the outstanding compliance issues and state that the registrant’s registration will not be 

renewed until the issues are resolved or the fees or fines are paid in full (PA 19-119, § 1, effective 

July 1, 2019). 

 

Document Envelope for Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder 

A new law requires the DMV, in consultation with the Connecticut Police Chiefs Association and at 

least one autism spectrum disorder advocacy organization, to design blue envelopes that (1) hold a 

driver’s license, registration, and insurance card and (2) provide guidance on enhancing effective 

communication between police officers and people with autism spectrum disorder. Beginning 

January 1, 2020, the DMV commissioner must provide an envelope upon request to a person with 

autism spectrum disorder or such person’s parent or guardian, if the person is a minor (PA 19-161, 

§ 39, effective upon passage). 

 

Extended Driver’s License, Identity Card, and Vehicle Registration 

Renewal Periods 

The legislature extended the maximum renewal periods of (1) driver’s licenses and identity cards, 

from six years to eight years, and (2) most vehicle registrations, from two years to three years. Fees 

for these extended renewal periods are generally proportionate to their respective six-year and two-

year fees. The act also proportionally adjusts other registration-related fees to account for the 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7306
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
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extended renewal period options, including the Clean Air Act and Passport to the Parks fees (PA 19-

165, effective January 1, 2020). 

 

Motor Vehicle Operator’s License Medical Advisory Board 

Nominations 

By law, the Motor Vehicle Operator's License Medical Advisory Board advises the DMV 

commissioner on the medical aspects and concerns of licensing motor vehicle operators. A new law 

removes the requirement that the DMV commissioner’s board appointments be made from a list of 

nominees submitted by the Connecticut State Medical Society, Connecticut Association of 

Optometrists, and certain other professional medical organizations. It instead allows those 

organizations to submit nominations for the commissioner’s consideration (PA 19-119, § 10, 

effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Out-of-State Registration Task Force 

A new law establishes a 12-member task force to study compliance with the state’s motor vehicle 

registration laws and ways to prevent Connecticut residents from registering motor vehicles out-of-

state. The task force must submit a report with its findings and recommendations to the 

Transportation Committee by January 1, 2020 (PA 19-119, § 14, effective upon passage). 

 

Electric Vehicles 

Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate 

Program 

A new law establishes the Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate 

(CHEAPR) program to provide rebates of at least $3 million annually to state residents for the 

purchase or lease of new or used hydrogen or electric vehicles. It also increases and broadens the 

application of the greenhouse gas reduction fee to generate a revenue stream to fund the program 

(PA 19-117, §§ 94 & 95, the CHEAPR program provisions are effective October 1, 2019, and the 

greenhouse gas reduction fee changes are effective January 1, 2020). 

 

Parking at Electric Vehicle Charging Stations 

Existing law prohibits non-electric vehicles from parking in parking spots with electric vehicle 

charging stations. This session, the legislature made it an infraction to violate this prohibition (PA 

19-161, § 9, effective October 1, 2019).  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7201
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7201
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
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Zero-Emission Vehicles in State Fleet 

Starting January 1, 2030, a new law generally requires that at least 50% of the state fleet’s cars 

and light duty trucks and at least 30% of its buses be zero-emission vehicles. It exempts certain 

vehicles used for law enforcement or emergency response purposes from this requirement (PA 19-

117, § 93, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Highway Traffic Safety 

Civil Damages for Traffic Violations 

By law, in civil actions to recover damages due to personal injury, wrongful death, or property 

damage that result from certain motor vehicle violations, the jury or judge may award double or 

triple damages if (1) the defendant committed the violation with deliberate or reckless disregard 

and (2) the violation was a substantial factor in causing the injury, death, or property damage for 

which the plaintiff is seeking damages. A new law adds using a cell phone or other mobile 

electronic device while driving to the list of motor vehicle violations for which double to triple 

damages may be awarded in certain circumstances (PA 19-160, effective July 1, 2019, and 

applicable to all civil actions pending on, or filed on or after, that date). 

 

Crossing Railroad Tracks 

Existing law prohibits people from crossing railroad tracks when warned of an approaching railroad 

locomotive, car, or train. A new law additionally prohibits a person from crossing railroad tracks 

when warned of other equipment on the tracks. A violation is an infraction (PA 19-119, § 13, 

effective October 1, 2019). 

 

E-Scooter Regulation  

The legislature established a regulatory framework for electric foot scooters (“e-scooters”), 

generally granting e-scooter riders the same rights, privileges, and duties that apply to bicycle and 

electric bicycle (“e-bike”) riders. As with bicycles and e-bikes, municipalities are generally allowed to 

regulate e-scooters, as long as the regulations do not conflict with state law (PA 19-162, effective 

October 1, 2019). 

 

Ignition Interlock Devices 

Existing law prohibits a person required by a court order, the DMV commissioner, or any law that 

requires the use of an ignition interlock device (IID) from, among other things, driving a vehicle that 

does not have a functioning IID or that the court has ordered the person not to operate. A new law 

specifies that a person who is required to install an IID as a condition for reinstating a license, but 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7126
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7141
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who fails to do so and drives, is guilty of operating under a suspension that resulted from an 

alcohol-related offense (PA 19-119, § 8, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Increased Penalties for Illegal Racing 

The legislature increased the penalties for driving a motor vehicle on a public road for purposes of 

betting, racing, or making a speed record. Under prior law, a first offense was punishable by a fine 

of $75 to $600, up to one year in prison, or both; any subsequent offense was punishable by a fine 

of $100 to $1,000, up to one year in prison, or both. Instead, under the act, the minimum fine is 

$150 for a first offense and $300 for any subsequent offense and the DMV commissioner must 

require violators to attend an operator’s retraining program (PA 19-53, effective October 1, 2019).     

 

Increased Penalties for Negligent Homicide with a Motor Vehicle  

The legislature increased the maximum fine and prison sentence for causing someone else’s death 

through the negligent operation of a motor vehicle. Under prior law, such negligent operation of a 

(1) motor vehicle, other than a commercial vehicle, was punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, up to 

six months in prison, or both or (2) commercial motor vehicle was punishable by a fine of up to 

$2,500, up to six months in prison, or both. Under the act, such negligent operation of any motor 

vehicle is punishable by a fine of up to $3,500, up to three years in prison, or both (PA 19-53, 

effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Operation Lifesaver 

A new law makes changes to the Operation Lifesaver program, including (1) requiring that DOT, 

instead of the Operation Lifesaver committee, administer it; (2) revising the committee’s 

membership; and (3) allowing the commissioner to enter into a contract with a nonprofit to 

administer the program. By law, the program is designed to increase public awareness of at-grade 

railroad crossing hazards (PA 19-161, § 1, effective upon passage). 

 

Vulnerable User Law Expansion 

The legislature expanded the state’s vulnerable user law to cover instances when a driver causes 

“substantial bodily harm,” meaning bodily injury that (1) involves a temporary but substantial 

disfigurement, (2) causes a temporary but substantial loss or impairment of a body part’s or 

organ’s function, or (3) causes the fracture of any body part. By law, a driver who fails to exercise 

reasonable care and harms a vulnerable user (e.g., a pedestrian, bicyclist, or highway worker) faces 

a penalty of up to $1,000 (PA 19-162, § 18, effective October 1, 2019).  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7378
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7378
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7141
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Motor Vehicle Dealers and Repairers 

Vehicle Trade-in Fee  

A new law increases the motor vehicle trade-in fee from $35 to $100. By law, the DMV 

commissioner must charge new and used car dealers this fee on each used motor vehicle they 

accept as a trade-in when selling a new or used vehicle (PA 19-117, § 361, effective October 1, 

2019, and applicable to transactions occurring on or after that date). 

 

Another new law specifies that dealers are not prohibited from seeking payment for the vehicle 

trade-in fee (PA 19-161, § 36, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Parking 

Accessible Parking Penalties 

A new law restricts the use of the cross hatches next to parking reserved for people with disabilities 

(i.e., accessible parking) to motor vehicles that (1) display a state-issued license plate or windshield 

placard and (2) are operated by or carry as a passenger the person for whom the plate or placard 

was issued. The act also raises the fines for violating existing accessible parking laws, from $100 to 

$250 for a first violation and from $250 to $500 for a subsequent violation, and subjects people 

who unlawfully use the cross hatches next to such parking to the same penalties (PA 19-119, §§ 

11 & 12, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Accessible Parking Placards for Parents of Children with Disabilities 

The law allows a parent or guardian of a child (under age 18) with a disability to apply for an 

accessible parking windshield placard, on the child’s behalf. New legislation specifies that DMV 

must issue a placard to each parent or guardian who applies, except that no more than two 

placards may be issued on behalf of an eligible child (PA 19-161, § 37, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Parking Tickets by Independent Higher Education Institutions and 

Private High Schools 

A new law allows independent higher education institutions and private high schools to issue 

parking citations that impose monetary sanctions on owners of vehicles parked on their property. 

Prior law prohibited all private property owners and lessees, or their agents, from issuing these 

parking citations (PA 19-140, effective upon passage).     

 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7424
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=6588
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Public Transportation 

Commuter Rail Parking Garage Plan 

A new law requires the DOT commissioner to submit to the Transportation Committee by January 1, 

2021, a plan to modernize the parking garages at commuter rail stations in Bridgeport, New Haven, 

and Stamford. The plan must address, among other things, (1) traffic flow inside the garages, (2) 

access to other transportation modes at the garages, (3) pedestrian access and safety, and (4) the 

incorporation of new technology at the garages (PA 19-161, § 8, effective upon passage).  

 

Municipal Redevelopment Authority 

A new law establishes a quasi-public Municipal Redevelopment Authority (MRDA) to, among other 

things, develop property and manage facilities in the areas around transit stations and downtowns 

(i.e., “development districts”) in order to stimulate economic and transit-oriented development. It 

requires certain municipalities to be members of MRDA and allows others to join under certain 

conditions. MRDA’s powers include purchasing property; hiring consultants, attorneys, and 

appraisers; entering into contracts; employing staff; and issuing bonds (PA 19-117, §§ 212-227, 

effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Positive Train Control Status Reports 

Under a new law, DOT must submit quarterly reports, beginning by August 15, 2019, to the 

Transportation Committee on the progress made to implement positive train control (PTC) systems 

on passenger rail lines. Generally, PTC systems are technologies designed to automatically stop a 

train before certain accidents related to human error occur. Under federal law, PTC systems had to 

be installed on all passenger rail lines by December 31, 2018; rail lines that qualified for an 

alternative schedule, including Metro North, must fulfill the requirement as soon as possible, but no 

later than December 31, 2020 (PA 19-161, § 13, effective upon passage).  

 

School Bus Carriers and Drivers 

Cell Phone Use by School Bus Drivers  

By law, school bus drivers, while driving a bus carrying passengers, are prohibited from using a cell 

phone or other electronic device, including those with hands-free accessories, except to 

communicate with school officials, first responders, or other specified individuals in an emergency. 

A new law additionally allows these drivers to use a cell phone or mobile electronic device in the 

same manner as a two-way radio to communicate with the above listed individuals in any 

circumstance, including in nonemergency situations (PA 19-119, § 15, effective October 1, 2019).  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7424
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
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Suspended and Revoked Driver Report and Carrier Compliance 

Under existing law, DMV must periodically provide to school districts and school bus companies 

(i.e., carriers) a report listing the names and driver's license numbers of each public passenger 

endorsement holder whose license or endorsement has been suspended or revoked. Carriers must 

review DMV's report at least once during the first week and third week of each month. 

 

A new law eliminates the requirement that DMV ensure that each carrier is reviewing the report by, 

among other things, conducting random compliance audits. It instead requires carriers to register 

with DMV on and after October 1, 2019, and provide the name of the employee or agent 

responsible for checking the report. Carriers that fail to register as required face a civil penalty of 

$1,000 for a first violation and $2,500 for a subsequent violation (PA 19-119, §§ 6 & 7, effective 

July 1, 2019).  

 

Transportation Funding and Finance 

Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax Diversion 

The legislature modified the schedule for diverting motor vehicle sales and use tax revenue to the 

Special Transportation Fund (STF) by reducing the transfer from (1) 33% to 17% in FY 20 and (2) 

56% to 25% in FY 21. The required diversions remain the same for FY 22 (75%) and FY 23 (100%) 

(PA 19-117, §§ 317 & 318, effective July 1, 2019, and applicable to sales occurring on or after 

that date). 

 

Transportation Network Companies (TNCs) 

Illuminated TNC Decal Placement  

A new law requires that any illuminated vehicle decals used by TNC (e.g., Uber & Lyft) drivers be 

displayed on the passenger side of the vehicle. By law, TNC drivers must display a sufficiently large, 

TNC-issued decal that is reflective, illuminated, or otherwise visible in darkness (PA 19-161, § 11, 

effective October 1, 2019).  

 

TNC Driver License Requirements 

Under a new law, anyone authorized as a TNC driver in Connecticut who does not hold an in-state 

driver’s license must hold a driver’s license from a “reciprocal state,” rather than any state as prior 

law required. A reciprocal state is any state that allows Connecticut driver’s license holders to act 

as a TNC driver in their state (PA 19-161, § 3, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7424
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
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TNC Fee Increase 

As part of the budget, the legislature increased, from 25 cents to 30 cents, the fee TNCs must pay 

on each ride that originates in the state. TNCs must remit this fee on a quarterly basis to the 

Department of Revenue Services (PA 19-117, § 360, effective July 1, 2019).  

 

Trucking 

Commercial Vehicle Services Study 

A new law requires the DMV and Department of Administrative Services commissioners to jointly 

study the current system used to evaluate motor carriers providing, or seeking to provide, the state 

or a municipality with commercial motor vehicles services and make recommendations on making 

the system more efficient. By January 1, 2020, the commissioners must submit a report with the 

study results to the Transportation Committee (PA 19-119, § 16, effective upon passage). 

 

Display of International Registration Plan Documents 

A new law allows motor carriers to present certain International Registration Plan (IRP) documents 

on a cell phone or other electronic device in conformance with a recent amendment to the IRP. The 

IRP is an interstate compact under which states recognize the registration of commercial motor 

vehicles registered in other jurisdictions and receive apportioned registration fees based on the 

distance operated in member jurisdictions (PA 19-119, §§ 3 & 4, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Miscellaneous 

Motor Vehicle Inspectors as Peace Officers 

A new law expands the definition of “peace officer” to include DMV motor vehicle inspectors who 

have received Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) certification. Under prior law, 

POST-certified motor vehicle inspectors had many, but not all, of the powers and protections 

afforded to peace officers. Among other things, the peace officer designation gives these inspectors 

the authority to obtain a motor vehicle’s event data recorder under a search warrant (PA 19-108, 

effective October 1, 2019).    

 

Multiuse Trail Study 

A new law requires DOT, in consultation with DEEP and the Lower Connecticut River Valley Council 

of Government, to (1) identify a feasible route for a multiuse trail to connect the Arrigoni Bridge in 

Middletown to the Farmington Canal Trail in Cheshire via the commuter rail station in Meriden, (2) 

recommend phases for constructing the trail and estimate the cost of each phase, and (3) 

summarize public comments on the study or trail route (PA 19-161, § 4, effective upon passage). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7424
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=6376
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
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Use of Blue and Red Steady Lights 

Under a new law, the use of a steady blue or red illuminated light, visible from the front of a vehicle, 

is limited to a state or local police vehicle operated by a police officer or DMV inspector. By law, 

unchanged by the act, vehicles operated by certain individuals under specified circumstances may 

use flashing blue or red lights (e.g., volunteer firefighters, EMS organization members, or police 

officers responding to an emergency) (PA 19-161, § 10, effective October 1, 2019).  

 

Welcome Centers 

The biennial budget appropriates $655,090 each in FYs 20 and 21 to the Department of Economic 

and Community Development to staff the state’s welcome centers, including reopening the one in 

Westbrook. The state has six welcome centers: Danbury, Darien, Greenwich, North Stonington, 

Westbrook, and Willington (PA 19-117, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Additionally, new legislation also requires that within available appropriations, (1) restroom facilities 

at the state’s welcome centers be open 24 hours per day and (2) welcome center signage indicate 

the hours when the centers are open (PA 19-178, effective upon passage). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7140
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7306

